UNL Seeks K-12 Nominees for McAuliffe Award

Christa McAuliffe sought to remind the entire nation of the importance of education and take students all over the country on the “ultimate field trip” to outer space.

McAuliffe and six others died in the 1986 explosion of the Challenger Space Shuttle. She was the first teacher in space. Her courage was evident in her willingness to board the shuttle and in her fierce defense of what and how she would teach from space.

To honor her courage and her memory, Dr. Gregg Wright, associate professor at UNL’s Center on Children, Family and the Law, established the Nebraska McAuliffe Prize for Courage and Excellence in Education in 1986 in conjunction with the University of Nebraska Foundation.

The annual prize honors one courageous Nebraska K-12 teacher with a $1,000 prize and plaque.

The winning teacher will be announced at Administrator Days in July, commemorating the 35th year of the honor.

Nominations are due by Thursday, April 15. Supporting materials must be submitted by Saturday, May 15.

To nominate a colleague for the Nebraska McAuliffe Prize for Courage and Excellence in Education, go to: http://courage.unl.edu