Metro District Delegate Assembly Caucus Minutes April 7, 2016 Field Club Country Club

The meeting was called to order by Metro District President at 6:03pm

Bobby welcomed guests, Metro District board and delegates.

Guests included: Nancy Fulton, NSEA President; Jenni Benson, NSEA Vice President; John Heinemann, NEA Director.

Metro Board members present: Bobby Miller, Chris Proulx, Jane Leadabrand, Dave Herbener, Sasha Cerevantes, Rachel Howe, Ernestine Ortiz-Ventura, Kathie Garabrandt, Maria Wallace, Tanishia Butler, Dene' Oglesby, Paul Schulte, Alan Bone, Marsha Edquist, Brad Wellmann, Eddie Ventura.

Metro Award winners: Tim Royers, Millard, Teaching Excellence; Arturo Vega, Omaha, ESP of the year; Lauren Kennibeck, Omaha, Rookie of the year. Each received a book written by Lily Eskelsen-Garcia, NEA President.

Local with the largest increase in membership, Omaha Education Association Local with the 2^{nd} largest increase in membership, Bennington Education Association.

Local with the largest percentage increase in membership, Bennington Education Association. Local with the 2^{nd} largest percentage increase in membership, DC West Education Association.

Nancy Fulton gave an overview of Delegate Assembly to be held in Lincoln at Embassy Suites on April 15th and 16th. The Assembly will begin at 7:00pm on Friday evening and conclude at the end of business on Saturday. The Friday keynote speaker will be Lily Eskelsen-Garcia, NEA president. The keynote speaker on Saturday will be Kay Francis, a motivational speaker, she will have books for sale. Due to the spring Husker football game on Saturday, delegates are encouraged to wear red. If you are driving are encouraged to reserve a parking spot in one of the nearby parking garages. You can eat breakfast at Embassy Suites if you are commuting, just let Joan Sparks or Julie Wolfe know of your intentions.

Bobby Miller gave an over view of resolutions to be voted on at Delegate Assembly. See a complete list on the NSEA website.

- C-9 Weapon Free School was pulled for discussion. Michael Fryda moved to support Resolution C-9, 2^{nd} Alan Bone. Carried
- F-23 Retirement Benefits was pulled for discussion. Walta Sue Dodd moved to oppose as presented, 2nd John Jensen. Andy Isaacson moved to allow Walta Sue to

speak to her objections, 2^{nd} Craig Wiles. Carried Walta Sue amended her motion to support with eliminating the strikeouts, 2^{nd} John Jenson. Carried. Walta Sue will speak to this resolution on the floor of delegate assembly.

I-3 was pulled for discussion. Eddie Ventura made a motion for a caucus position of opposition of Resolution I-3, 2nd Justin Potts, Carried

Brad Wellmann gave the overview of Standing Rules and By-Laws. A page was missing from the Standing Rules Handout. A full copy of standing rules and by-law amendments may be accessed on the NSEA website.

By-Law Amendment 4 was pulled for discussion. Justin Potts moved a position of support for By-Law Amendment 4, 2nd Carolyn Grice. Carried

Marsha Edquist gave an overview of 2016 New Business Items. A copy can be found on the NSEA website.

NBI 2016-2 was pulled for discussion. Sasha Cerevantes made a motion for support of NBI 2016-2, 2nd Andy Isaacson. Carried

Alan Bone discussed the budget with a dues increase.

The Budget committee is recommending a \$12.00 increase in state dues increasing from \$387 to \$399. This is a 3.10% increase. The increase is meant to keep up with inflation.

Jenni Benson presented a legislative update. We are in the final days of the legislative session. Ernie Chambers if filibustering. Three particular bills are of interest: LB 958, LB 959 and LB 1067 to eliminate option enrollment and the common levy.

Sasha Cerevantes made a motion to support Tracy Hartman-Bradley for NEA director. 2nd Christine Jurgens.

Paul Schulte made a substitute motion to support both Metro District Candidates for NEA Director, Tracy Hartman-Bradley and Alan Bone. 2nd Marsha Edquist. Carried to substitute motion for original motion. Carried.

We will have a room at Embassy Suites Saturday morning for a caucus.

Susan Kalina thanked and congratulated Bobby Miller on the caucus.

Adjourned 7:52pm

Respectfully submitted, Jane Leadabrand, Secretary Metro District