Report of the NEA Resolutions Committee Submitted by Gina Boltz

The NEA Resolutions Committee is a group of approximately 160 Active, Retired, and Student members from around the country who work to maintain the NEA Resolutions document, which is the set of the official belief statements of the Association. The Resolutions are adopted annually by the NEA Representative Assembly. Gina Boltz (Lincoln) and Faith Johnson (Omaha) are your NEA Resolution Committee members. Nora Lenz and Megan Simsic (both of Lincoln) are the alternate NEA Resolution Committee members. All were elected by your state delegation at the 2022 NEA Representative Assembly. Collectively, NEA Resolutions represent our national organizational belief statements that address issues affecting our professions, our students, and schools. Much of the committee's work on newly proposed resolutions or amendments to existing resolutions is conducted via small group discussion through the establishment of internal subcommittees of the resolution committee. Your Nebraska Resolution Committee members attended the NEA virtual Winter Meeting in early March 2023. The NEA Resolution Committee will meet again prior to the Summer 2023 NEA Representative Assembly to finalize any resolutions and prepare the committee's final report to the Assembly. The NSEA Resolutions Committee will present newly proposed resolutions or amendments to existing resolutions to be voted on by the NSEA 2023 Delegates. The deadline to submit newly proposed resolutions or amendments to existing resolutions was April 14, 2023. As NEA Resolution Committee members, both Boltz and Faith serve as co-chairs of the NSEA Resolutions Committee. The committee is composed of members representing all NSEA Governance Districts. Other Committee members are Kimberly Erickson (Norfolk); Marsha Edquist (Millard); Sasha Cervantes (Omaha); Deb Rasmussen (Lincoln); Melissa Boutwell (Lexington); Lisa Hanson (Neligh-Oakdale); Burke Brown (District OR-1) and Vanessa Brand (Oakland-Craig). By virtue of office, NSEA President Jenni Benson, NSEA Vice President Robert Miller, and Nebraska NEA Directors Edward T Ventura and Linda Freye sit on the NSEA Resolutions Committee.