## Report of the Education Support Professionals Committee Submitted by Travis Vo, ESP Chair/At-Large Board Member

The purpose of the Education Support Professionals (ESP) Committee is to promote respect and understanding of ESPs and advocate for ESPs to be involved in Association activities. The Committee shall plan and implement programs that promote:

- o Advocating for the rights and needs of ESPs
- o Recruiting ESP members
- o Recruiting ESP leaders
- o Training ESP leaders
- o Facilitating communication among ESP members.

Attached below is a summary of the critical work our ESP leaders, members, and staff have been engaged in during the year:

- o The ESP Committee met several times throughout the year via Zoom. At each meeting, time is provided for NSEA staff to engage with ESP member leaders and provide updates on the important work being done to serve our ESP membership.
- o ESP members and NSEA staff participated in an outreach event at the Nebraska Paraeducator Conference in Kearney.
- o Travis Vo, Chair, was a member of the NSEA Strategic Plan Refresh Committee to provide input on ESP issues and needs in the Association.
- o Travis Vo, Chair, and Judy Roach, NSEA Organizational Specialist, assisted local leaders at the Millard Education Association to organize paraeducator members. As a result of this effort, 50+ members have joined MEA as education support professionals. Additional ESP organizing events include Ashland-Greenwood Paraeducators, Waverly/Eagle Paraeducators, Axtell Paraeducators, and Palmer Custodians.
- o NSEA members joined colleagues from across the country to collaborate and learn on issues affecting education support professionals at NEA's annual Education Support Professionals Conference. NSEA was well represented by ESP members, Christy Hodge (Millard), Mary Reynolds-East (Millard), Jenny Wood (South Sioux City), and Travis Vo (Westside). Judy Roach, NSEA Organizational Specialist attended as well. Additionally, Travis Vo, Chair was recognized as Nebraska's nominee for NEA ESP of the Year.