Scholarships and Grants Committee Dave Shrader, Ewing, Chair

Members of the committee are: Dave Shrader, Ewing (chair); Dashiell Rohan, Harrison (vice chair); Marina Garner, Hyannis; Kevin Pettigrew, Valentine; David Witt, Hastings; Amy Burns, Kearney; and Sasha Cervantes, Omaha.

The committee administered the **Belz-Lynch-Krause Educational Grant Fund** this past year. The grant is named for John Lynch, NSEA's executive director from 1959 to 1974; Paul Belz, who held that post from 1974-84; and Helen Krause, former NSEA president and Nebraska's first member of the NEA's Executive Committee. Eligible recipients of the Belz/Lynch/Krause Educational Grant Fund include NSEA members, groups of NSEA member or NSEA local associations.

Grant requests shall be related to improving a local association, development of instructional materials or to provide staff development for individuals of a local association. Applications must include a project abstract, not to exceed four typed pages, including the following information: need; how the project will address the need to relate to professional growth goals, a project description; time-line; a budget; and method of evaluating the project.

Created from the funding previously provided to the Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska Professional Development Fund is NSEA's Leading Excellence and Robust Networks – LEARN – a nonprofit that supports children and education by providing professional development for educators. Great teachers are a good investment. Research shows that effective teachers are key to student achievement. LEARN provides valuable learning opportunities for Nebraska teachers to help them grow professionally. The University of Nebraska at Kearney was the site of the first event for LEARN on December 2, 2017, with a very successful Teach to Lead Summit. Visit LearnNebraska.org for upcoming professional development opportunities.