

Jenni Benson, President

Maddie Fennell, NBCT, Executive Director

Resolution of the Nebraska State Education Association Board of Directors:

Whereas the Nebraska State Education Association (NSEA) is a union comprised of over 27,000 members across the state of Nebraska;

Whereas the mission of the NSEA is to advocate for all education professionals, empowering them to provide an excellent public education for every student;

Whereas educators are working diligently to stay safe and healthy while also advancing the educational progress of our students during this pandemic;

Whereas teaching during the COVID-19 pandemic has Nebraska educators overwhelmed, worried about their students, their health and safety;

Whereas ninety-two percent of the more than 6,500 Nebraska public school educators who responded to the statewide survey say wearing masks should be mandated for both teachers and students;

Whereas eighty-six percent of the educators who participated in the survey reported feeling overwhelmed, stressed, frustrated or worried and a majority of respondents also said their school district is not listening to educator input regarding issues around teaching and learning during the pandemic;

Whereas the survey showed that statewide nearly one in four teachers plan to leave the profession by the end of the school year and in Lincoln and Omaha, nearly one in three respondents said they plan to leave teaching;

Whereas the NSEA Board of Directors has been elected to represent our members and advocate for the interests of students and educators across Nebraska;

Now, therefore, be it Resolved that the NSEA Board of Directors:

- 1) Join with medical experts from UNMC and across Nebraska in asking Governor Ricketts to immediately issue Directed Health Measures that will call for:
 - A statewide mask mandate;
 - Limitation of 10 people for indoor or outdoor gatherings;
 - Temporarily close bars and suspend indoor dining and launch a Takeout Nebraska campaign;
 - Dedensify classrooms with alternative staffing and student attendance patterns, especially when students are eating.

- 2) Calls for a moratorium on all in person youth and high school sports and extracurricular activities until January.
- 3) Calls upon school administrators to utilize the tools at their disposal to provide necessary relief for staff:
 - Suspension of evaluations for non-probationary teachers;
 - Make curriculum adjustments and relax pacing. Lost instructional time may be due to cleaning, sanitizing, mask breaks and technical issues with remote learners. Teachers know their students and will keep them advancing academically;
 - Providing plan time not more training as allowed by the recent Nebraska Department of Education guidance posted at: https://launchne.com/commish/
 - Include more administrators and certificated staff without full time teaching responsibilities in covering classes instead of only taking away teacher plan time and increasing the numbers of students in class;
 - Districts must provide factual COVID numbers to the public and school staff;
 - Listen to educator input, show empathy and leadership.
- 4) On behalf of NSEA members and students across the state, authorize NSEA President Jenni Benson to file a petition for a declaratory order with the State Board of Education. The petition will request that the State Board declare the interventions and protocols recommended by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) be adopted as the specific safety criteria under which schools will operate and remain open until the risk of transmission is abated. She will further request that the Board direct that studies, investigations and reports be prepared regarding the transmission of the virus in the school systems under its authority and take such remedial action as is necessary to enforce safety accreditation standards.

Jenni Benson, President Robert Miller, Vice-President Tracy Hartman-Bradley, NEA Director Linda Freye, NEA Director Julie Colby, Capitol District Robin Ankrom, Capitol District Deb Rasmussen, Capitol District Mindy Diller, Capitol District Burke Brown, Capitol District Jason Wiese, Elkhorn District Kimberly Erickson, Elkhorn District Denton Beacom, Elkhorn District Linda Hanson, Elkhorn District Sasha Cervantes, Metro District Justin Potts, Metro District Kathie Garabrandt, Metro District Tanishia Jacobs, Metro District Sarah Dragon, Metro District Dave Herbener, Metro District Dashiell Rohan, Panhandle District Renae Noble, Panhandle District Emily Tobias, Sandhills District Kevin Pettigrew, Sandhills District

David Witt, Tri-Valley District
Deb Lyons, Tri-Valley District
Melissa Boutwell, Tri-Valley District
Amy Burns, Tri-Valley District
Luis Olivas, Higher Education At-Large
Adrianne Kruger, Aspiring Educators
De Tonack, NSEA Retired
Edward T. Ventura, Jr. Ethnic Minority Affairs
At-Large
Travis Vo, Education Support Professionals At-Large