Minutes of BOARD OF DIRECTORS NEBRASKA STATE EDUCATION ASSOCIATION August 27, 2016

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting of the Board of Directors of the Nebraska State Education Association was called to order by President Nancy Fulton at 8:34 a.m., Saturday, August 27, 2016.

PRESENT

Capitol

Deb Rasmussen, Lincoln Jen Yoder, Lincoln Rita Bennett, Lincoln Julie Colby, Lincoln Will West, Lincoln

Elkhorn

David Shrader, Neligh-Oakdale Jason Wiese, Arlington (left @ 3:30) Gwen Smith, Fremont Tracia Blom, South Sioux City

Metro

Alan Bone, Westside Marsha Edquist, Millard Paul Schulte, Millard Brad Wellmann, Bellevue Edward Ventura, Omaha Bobby Miller, Omaha

Panhandle

Dashiell Rohan, Sioux County

Sandhills

Marina Garner, Hyannis

ML Lehman, ESU #16 (left @ 4:00)

ABSENT

Tri-Valley Michelle Carter, Grand Island

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

MISSION STATEMENT

The NSEA Mission Statement was read by Jenni Benson, NSEA Vice-President.

Tri-Valley

Melissa Boutwell, Lexington David Witt, Hastings Amy Sabatka, North Platte

<u>President</u> Nancy Fulton, Wilber-Clatonia <u>Vice President</u> Jenni Benson, Lincoln <u>NEA Director</u> John Heineman, Lincoln

NEA Director Tracy Hartman-Bradley, Omaha **SEAN** Denton Beacom, Wayne State College

NSEA-Retired Roger Rea, Omaha

Higher Ed Andrew Lenzen, Nebr. Western CC

EMAC Isau Metes, Lincoln

ESP Diane Garner

<u>Executive Director</u> Craig R. Christiansen <u>Associate Executive Director</u> Neal Clayburn

Comptroller Sheri Jablonski

Administrative Assistant Patty Schroer

CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION

Certificates of Election/Appointment were presented to the following Board of Directors' members:

Tracy Hartman-Bradley – three-year term

Jen Yoder – three-year term

Julie Colby – three-year term

Gwen Smith – three-year term

Paul Schulte – three-year term

Ed Ventura – three-year term

Dash Rohan – three-year term

Marina Garner – two-year term

Amy Sabatka – one-year term

Diane Garner – one-year term

Isau Metes – one-year term

Denton Beacom – one-year term

BOARD TRAINING SESSION

The Board of Directors participated in a Board Training facilitated by Cara Elmore, NEA Staff. Board training was held from 8:42 a.m. to 11:35 a.m.

LUNCH - 11:35 a.m. – 12:22 p.m.

AUDIENCE TO MEMBERS AND GUESTS

Visitors included: Brian Mikkelsen-NSEA Staff and Cindy Dornbush and Candy Specht-Horace Mann Insurance Company.

AGENDA

The agenda was adopted as printed.

MINUTES

The minutes of July 29, 2016, were approved as printed.

FINANCIAL

Financial Statements dated July 31, 2016, Accounts Payable for July 2016 and the NSEA Children's Fund Summary of Account dated July 31, 2016, were reviewed and filed for audit.

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

- Horace Mann Programs and Benefits Cindy Dornbush and Candy Specht
- PAC Budget Recommendation Brian Mikkelsen

EXECUTIVE SESSION – Board moved into Executive Session at 1:30 p.m. They reconvened in regular session at 2:40 p.m.

BREAK - the Board took a short break. They reconvened at 2:47 p.m.

ACTION ITEMS

<u>MOTION #1</u> (Heineman/Bradley) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors accept Craig Christiansen's resignation effective February 28, 2017. **Motion carried.**

<u>MOTION #2</u> (Blom/Sabatka) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors put together a committee of five (President, Vice-President, both NEA Directors and one person from the Personnel Committee) in charge of the search, interviews and process of recommending a new NSEA Executive Director to the Board of Directors. <u>Motion carried.</u>

LEGAL REVIEW COMMITTEE

President Fulton called for nominations for three At-Large positions on the Legal Review Committee. Nominated were Jen Yoder, Paul Schulte and Will West. Yoder, Schulte and West were elected by acclamation.

BUDGET COMMITTEE

President Fulton called for nominations for two At-Large positions on the Budget Committee. Nominated were Alan Bone, Marsha Edquist, Andrew Lenzen and Jason Wiese. Marsha Edquist withdrew her nomination. Bone and Wiese were elected.

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

President Fulton called for nominations for two At-Large positions on the Personnel Committee. Nominated were Jason Wiese, Andrew Lenzen, Julie Colby and Paul Schulte. Lenzen and Schulte were elected.

<u>MOTION #3</u> (Shrader/Rohan) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors approve the 2016-2017 NSEA Board Committees as listed. **Motion carried.**

MOTION #4 (Schulte/Edquist) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors approve the NSEA Board of Directors 2017-2018 meeting schedule. **Motion carried.**

MOTION #5 (Rohan/Sabatka) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors accept the TESAC Bylaws, as modified. **Motion carried.**

<u>MOTION #6</u> (Blom/Witt) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors approve the PAC budget request up to the recommended amounts. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>MOTION #7</u> (Rohan/Rasmussen) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors accept the Pension Plan Amendment to the loan policy in regard to the NSEA 401(k) Plan. <u>Motion</u> carried.

<u>MOTION #8</u> (Sabatka/Lehman) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors approve the ratification of the 2016-2019 Agreement for Legal Services and the 2016-2017 Fee Agreement with Norby & Wade Law Firm. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>MOTION #9</u> (Bone/West) Move that the NSEA Board of Directors recommend that the Executive Director terminate the Access card program, effective December 31, 2016. <u>Motion carried.</u>

STRATEGIC PLANNING ACTIVITY

The Board participated in a Strategic Planning Activity facilitated by Craig Christiansen, Executive Director. Strategic Planning was held from 3:30 p.m. to 3:50 p.m.

REPORTS

President Nancy Fulton

Vice President Jenni Benson

NEA Director John Heineman

NEA Director Tracy Hartman-Bradley

Executive Director Craig R. Christiansen

Associate Executive Director Neal Clayburn

Comptroller Sheri Jablonski (no report)

EMAC Isau Metes (no report)

Higher Ed Andrew Lenzen (no report)

NSEA-Retired Roger Rea

SEAN Denton Beacom (report is on website)

ESP Diane Garner (no report)

NEXT MEETING

The next Board of Directors meeting will be October 15, 2016.

ADJ OURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:31 p.m.

Attested, Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Fulton, President Patty Schroer, Administrative Assistant

Craig R. Christiansen, Executive Director

VOTING REGISTER August 27, 2016

NAME	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Nancy Fulton	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Jenni Benson	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
John Heineman	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Tracy Hartman-Bradley	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Deb Rasmussen	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Jen Yoder	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Rita Bennett	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Julie Colby	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
David Shrader	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Jason Wiese	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Abt
Gwen Smith	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Alan Bone	Y	A	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Paul Schulte	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Marsha Edquist	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Brad Wellmann	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Abt	Abt	Abt	Y
Edward Ventura	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Dash Rohan	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Marina Garner	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
David Witt	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Melissa Boutwell	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Amy Sabatka	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
YES	21	20	21	21	21	20	20	20	20
NO	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0
ABSENT	0	0	0	0	0	1	1	1	1
ABSTAIN	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0

- 1. Accept Craig Christiansen's resignation.
- 2. Put together a committee to recommend a new NSEA Executive Director.
- 3. Approve the 2016-2017 NSEA Board Committees.
- 4. Approve the NSEA Board of Directors 2017-2018 meetings.
- 5. Accept the TESAC Bylaws, as modified.
- 6. Approve the PAC budget recommended amounts.
- 7. Accept the Pension Plan Amendment.
- 8. Approve the two Agreements with Norby & Wade Law Firm.
- 9. Recommend the Executive Director terminate the Access card program.