Minutes of **BOARD OF DIRECTORS** NEBRASKA STATE EDUCATION ASSOCIATION March 1, 2014 NSEA Headquarters, Lincoln, NE

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting of the Board of Directors of the Nebraska State Education Association was called to order by President Nancy Fulton at 9:32 a.m., Saturday, March 1, 2014, at NSEA Headquarters in Lincoln, Nebraska.

PRESENT

$\mathbf{\alpha}$	• 4 1
1 9	nitol
va	μισι

<u>Capitol</u>	<u>Sandhills</u>
Linda Freye, Lincoln	Bill Walters, O'Neill
Deb Rasmussen, Lincoln	<u>Tri-Valley</u>
Susan Stake, Waverly	Gordon Peeks, North Platte
<u>Elkhorn</u>	Deb Gnuse, Grand Island
David Shrader, Verdigre	Michelle Carter, Grand Island (left at 12:30 p.m.)
Tiffanny Heese, Winnebago	President Nancy Fulton, Wilber-Clatonia
Doug Sheppard, Fremont	Vice President Leann Widhalm, Norfolk
<u>Metro</u>	<u>NEA Director</u> John Heineman, Lincoln (left at 11:40 a.m.)
Janis Elliott, Bellevue (left at 11:50 a.m.)	NEA Director Jenni Absalon, Lincoln
Maddie Fennell, Omaha	SEAN Tommie Leaders, UNO
Alan Bone, Westside	NSEA-R Roger Rea, Omaha
Paul Schulte, Millard	Higher Education Joan Trimpey, Metro Comm. Coll.
Marsha Edquist, Millard	ESP Gerald Hopp, Falls City
Becky Torrens, Elkhorn	EMAC Ginger Rogers, Bellevue
Panhandle	Executive Director Craig R. Christiansen
Pat McLaughlin, Alliance	Associate Executive Director Neal Clayburn
Carolyn Campbell, Bayard	Comptroller Sheri Jablonski
	Administrative Assistant Joan Sparks

ABSENT

Capitol District Daniel Ross, Lincoln; Jen Yoder, Lincoln **Elkhorn District** Tracia Blom, South Sioux City Sandhills District ML Lehman, ESU #16 Tri-Valley District Dennis Batterman, Imperial

AGENDA

The agenda was adopted with flexibility with Budget and Bylaws additions.

MINUTES

Minutes of January 25, 2014, were approved as printed.

FINANCIAL

Financial Statements dated January 31, 2014, Accounts Payable for January 2014, and the NSEA Children's Fund Summary of Account dated January 31, 2014, were reviewed and filed for audit.

AUDIENCE TO MEMBERS

Stephanie Patsalis, California Casualty; NSEA staff Cathy Schapmann, Jason Hayes, Jay Sears, and Brian Mikkelsen.

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

- PAC Recommendations Brian Mikkelsen
- Governor's Recommendation Timeline Nancy Fulton
- Legislative Update Jason Hayes
- Nebraska State Student Standards Ad Hoc Committee Report Linda Freye and Jay Sears
- Membership Report Neal Clayburn

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Board moved into Executive Session at 1:21 p.m. Reconvened in regular session at 2:31 p.m.

ACTION ITEMS

<u>Motion #1</u> (Campbell/McLaughlin) Rescind the action taken at the January 25, 2014, board meeting to change the bargaining committee by removing the comptroller and replacing with an individual from the Personnel Committee. <u>Motion failed.</u>

<u>Negotiations Committee</u> President Fulton called for nominations of individuals from the Personnel Committee to serve on the Negotiations Committee. Jenni Absalon was nominated and elected by acclamation.

<u>Motion #2</u> (Widhalm/Budget Committee) Set the governance mileage to the IRS rate effective September 1, 2014. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>Motion #3</u> (Widhalm/Budget Committee) Recommend to the Delegate Assembly the dues amounts as outlined in the Strategic Planning & Budget document for the 2014-2015 Association year. This reflects a \$4.00 increase for full-time active members, a 1.05% increase. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>Motion #4</u> (Peeks/Edquist) Approve the Delegate Assembly Standing Rules with changes. <u>Motion</u> <u>carried.</u>

<u>Motion #5</u> (Fennell/Rasmussen) Adopt the recommended member-to-Board-member ratio of one Board member for every 1227 NSEA members for the 2014-2015 Association year. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>Motion #6</u> (Absalon/Leaders) Approve the \$3,000 matching funds request from the Hastings Education Association. <u>Motion carried.</u>

Motion #7 (Rasmussen/Schulte) Approve the recommended PAC budget. Motion carried.

<u>Motion #8</u> (Freye/McLaughlin) Accept the Ad Hoc Committee report on State Standards. <u>Motion</u> <u>carried.</u>

<u>Motion #9</u> (Widhalm on behalf of the Executive Committee) Approve the request of Maureen Nickels to campaign for and, if elected, serve on the Nebraska State Board of Education. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>Motion #10</u> (Widhalm on behalf of the Bylaws Committee) Amend Board Policy 5.14 Governance Expenses, first paragraph, by adding "The RA Convention Coordinators will make all airline reservations for state delegates unless the President grants an exception." A new paragraph will be added: "State delegates that submit vouchers after the 20-day deadline will receive only airfare and hotel costs in advance

Board of Directors' Minutes, March 1, 2014

the following year if still a state delegate. Then they will receive the remainder of their travel allowance once vouchers and itemized receipts are submitted." A new paragraph will be added: "Completed vouchers and all required supporting documents must be submitted by the end of the fiscal year to be reimbursed." Motion carried.

<u>Motion #11</u> (Absalon on behalf of the Delegate Assembly Committee) Move the 2016 Delegate Assembly from April 29-30 to April 8-9 at the Lincoln Embassy Suites. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>Motion #12</u> (Absalon on behalf of Delegate Assembly Committee) Set the 2017 Delegate Assembly for April 21-22 at the Lincoln Cornhusker Marriott. <u>Motion carried.</u>

<u>Motion #13</u> (Torrens/Bone) Adjourn the meeting following all action items. <u>Motion carried by voice</u> <u>vote.</u>

NEXT MEETING

The next Board of Directors meeting will be on April 11, 2014.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

Attested,

Respectfully Submitted,

Nancy Fulton, President

Joan Sparks, Administrative Assistant

Craig R. Christiansen, Executive Director

VOTING REGISTER March 1, 2014													
Motion Numbers													
NAME	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	
Nancy Fulton	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Y	Y	
Leann Widhalm	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Y	
Jenni Absalon	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	
Linda Freye	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Y	Υ	Y	
Deb Rasmussen	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	
Susan Stake	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Y	
David Shrader	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Y	Υ	Y	
Tiffanny Heese	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Ab.	Υ	Y	
Doug Sheppard	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Ab.	Ab.	Υ	
Maddie Fennell	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	
Alan Bone	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Y	Υ	Y	
Paul Schulte	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	
Marsha Edquist	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	
Becky Torrens	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Y	
Pat McLaughlin	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	
Bill Walters	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	
Gordon Peeks	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Y	
Deb Gnuse	Ν	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y	Y	Υ	Y	
YES	5	18	18	18	18	18	18	18	18	16	17	18	
NO	13	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	
ABSENT	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2	1	0	
ABSTAIN													

1. Recind Bargaining Committee Action

- 2. Set governance mileage
- 3. Recommend dues amount
- 4. Approve DA Standing Rules and changes
- 5. Adopt membership compliance ratio
- 6. Approve Hastings E. A. matching funds request
- 7. Approve PAC budget
- 8. Accept Ad Hoc Committee report
- 9. Approve personnel request
- 10. Amend Board policy 5.14
- 11. Amend 2016 Delegate Assembly date
- 12. Set 2017 Delegate Assembly date and location
- 13. Adjourn the meeting voice vote